Covenant was founded in the early days of the Orthodox Presbyterian Church (OPC), in the midst of the OPC’s efforts to establish a church witness that would be faithful to Scripture and the good news of Jesus in the face of both Protestant liberalism and legalistic forms of fundamentalism. Covenant’s first service was held at a Waterloo YWCA and attended by 13 people. It would be established as a particular congregation in 1939, with nine charter members. Covenant was originally called First Orthodox Presbyterian Church, and by 1942 would be based on the corner of Byron and Sixth Streets in Waterloo, where the congregation erected its first building.
The name would change in 1968 to Christ Church of Cedarloo, coinciding with the move into a new building on Cedar Heights Drive in Cedar Falls. Later on, the name would change again, to Cedarloo Presbyterian Church. Finally, in 1990, our current name was adopted, Covenant Presbyterian Church. The congregation moved to our present location and facility on Crescent Drive in Cedar Falls in 2005. Our church body has gone through many changes over the decades, with many ups and downs. But one thing has remained constant, that Christ has faithfully been at work to build and sustain his church. We look to him in order to continue to bear a vibrant Christian witness in the Cedar Valley and beyond.